| images by john ecker, pantheon photography

Giant American Flag, Kennedy Library, Boston, Massachusetts

GIANT AMERICAN FLAG, KENNEDY LIBRARY, BOSTON, MASSACHUSETTS: My two earlier posts about the Kennedy Presidential Library have generated a fair bit of interest, so I’m posting another shot featuring the massive flag that hangs in the pavilion.  Library staff tell me that the flag was designed by I.M. Pei specifically for the pavilion space. President Kennedy requested that his Library not contain a bust or portrait.  Mrs. Kennedy honoured his wishes.  The flag represents President Kennedy in place of a likeness of him.  The flag is massive.  The dimensions are 26 ft. by 45 ft.  Here’s my shot of the JFK Library Exterior and here’s another photo of the JFK Pavilion Flag.

Leave a comment